Warsaw Pact

a collective defense agreement signed in 1955 by the Soviet Union and seven East European nations. Created in response to the integration of West Germany into NATO in 1955, the agreement created a military alliance to prevent the spread of American influence in Europe and maintain a Soviet military presence in participating nations.